Home WT.Social Forums WT.Social Forum ENGLISH Is anyone Moving Up on the Waiting List? Reply To: Is anyone Moving Up on the Waiting List?

MaxRosan
Participant

Well, that is interesting. I went through the new account procedure to setup my WT membership and got right in, no waiting. It could be, since I have been a good donor to Wikipedia for several years, that the WT:Social hookup process queried the Wikipedia database using my email address as a key and figured out that I was some kind of “good guy” or whatever. I should think, following the WP formula, that a donation would not be required initially. Kind of a deterrent to joining. Kind of a negative incentive there.

The Internet, and the websites on it, continue to evolve and to survive. I am a retired website developer for a large municipal utility company, and so I do have some knowledge of how all this works, or doesn’t. Regarding paid access vs. free access, my observations are thus: there are 100% free websites, news outlets, etc. that you just join — email address validation, and so on, and you are in. Those sites are littered with advertising, so-called “clickbait”, etc. Then there are sites that are on a lower budget that invite you to donate, but may or may not restrict access if you do not. I support a few of these. Then there are the websites that *require* a fee, or a donation, for access. I belong to and support some of these sites too.